Picture
I'm having a hard time right now.  Which is strange.  Because I really should be happy.  Like VERY happy.  I've even had dreams come true.  So why the melancholy attitude?   Well, I have my suspicions.  First and foremost, I'm pretty sure I'm just not taking care of myself.

About a month or so ago I quit smoking.  HOORAY!!! But it sunk me low into a hole of grouchy-ness and despair.  I figured it would go away eventually and ignored it.  Life has been very good to me lately.  We haven't had any financial hardships in quite some time, which for us is heaven sent.  Considering about two years ago (when the recession hit) we had no idea how we were going to eat that week.  And one of my huge dreams came true and I'm involved in opening up a birth center here in Vegas. 

But still there are times where the mundaneness of my life is almost unbearable (especially when I look or think about chores that need to be done).  And other moments where all I want is absolute silence and solitude.  It's very confusing for me and I'm sure my husband, who tries to help when he can but works a physically exhausting job and can't lift me up all the time.

And yes, I am an herbalist, goddess-lovin, healer woman who knows all sorts of remedies for the blues.  However, when it's the healer who's down, how does she pick herself back up?  There's no herbalist that lives in my pocket, who I can pull out any time I need mother medicine.  No one to make a pot of tea for me and listen to my troubles.

So, I am taking advice from Leonie (just watched her soul sessions videos) and I'm going to focus on self-care.  However, I do have to be realistic.  There's no way in hell I'm going to wake up tomorrow and start meditating, going on a juice fast or taking a vacation.  I have life, kids, husband, house.  I can't retreat when the going get's tough.  So, below is a list of simple things I am going to try this week.  

If I was my client, this is what I would tell myself:

Self-Care Checklist

  1. Eat more vegetables! You know better, healer lady, everything works better when you eat your veg.
  2. Drink more water and nourishing herbal teas.  High in vitamins, helps clear the system, and tone things up in the lady department. (lots of Women's Vitamin Tea!)
  3. Take your fish oil.  We live in the desert, you will never find fresh enough fish that you will actually eat it (and like it). Take your omegas, hormones could be to blame and even if it's not, you need it for your brain and poor dry skin anyway.  
  4. Screw carbs! They are so not your friend and they mess up your blood sugar until you are ready to nap or scream.  You felt awesome eating Paleo, don't stop now!
  5. Sit in the sun.  Seriously when was the last time you were outside longer than the time it takes you to pick up the kids at school?  I know it's been ridiculously hot and sticky.  But it's Fall now, and the mornings are gorgeous. Miss witchy-poo besides the fact that you need vitamin D, you also NEED connection with nature.  So go sit on the patio with your tea and enjoy some morning rays.
  6. Go to bed on time.  Staying up to get things done never works.  You stay up way too late only to fall asleep on the sofa after episode #10 of a shitty, random reality show on Hulu.  It would be much better to just go to bed early and wake up refreshed to do the things you need to get done.  
And if after one week of actually doing all six of these things, you still want to nap or cry on a daily basis, it is time to take serious herbal action.  We're talking Motherwort for the crazies, Tulsi for stress and the famous St. John's Wort for the little black rain cloud hovering over your head.

But most of all.  

It's time to ask for help from your friends and family.  

They love you...

and you need a hug.

Brightest Blessings,  

The Herbal Goddess




Leave a Reply.

    About Me

    Mother, Herbalist & Doula, I share my wisdom about healing through herbs, natural living, meditation and goddess spirituality. 

    Stella Seaspirit

    Buy Herbs At: